Coffee and dessert have made a perfect matrimony since before gelato affogato.

It’s that bitter, earthy flavor contrast with sweet cream that gets me every time. So naturally when I discovered I had all the fixings for an impromptu coffee dessert, I had to try it.

Affogato in Italian means “drowned,” and generally refers to a coffee dessert with a shot or two of espresso poured over the top.

After checking my fridge, I was delighted to find some leftover Dulce de Leche from my last recipe extravaganza.

Whereas affogato usually has more ice cream than coffee, I decided to create a caramel-flavored coffee with ice cream on the side.

The ingredients:

  • Freshly brewed coffee
  • Dulce de Leche
  • Skinny Dippers popcicles
  • Whipped cream

The assembly is so amazingly simple, too.

1. Pour coffee into desired glass.

2. Mix in 1 to 2 tbs. of Dulce de Leche.

3. Unwrap Skinny Dipper and submerge in coffee.

4. Top with whipped cream.

5. Enjoy.

Enjoying coffee and dessert doesn’t have to cost you $10 for a pint of ice cream and a latte.

Get creative with what you have at home instead.

The top view

The glass

